2002-04-15 - 6:31 a.m.

All Hail Jesus Gibb!

 

Since I began going to yard sales on a regular basis during the past year, I have started a very nice small COLLECTION of tiny PLASTIC Christian ICONOGRAPHY. Of course, the Jesus statues are designed into our AMERICAN image of him: white, long red-brown hair, and often blue eyes. As I took a close examination yesterday, I noticed quite a bit of variation in the icons: some were fat, others tall, and with different numbers in layers of clothing. I was thinking that if I knew when each was produced, I could write an interesting essay on the influences of popular culture/politics/religion/SOCIAL COMMENTARY on America's changing ideas of Christ. Then, one of the statues seemed to step forward. Yes, this one was different. But, something was familiar about him. He reminded me of a man from my youth. Then it hit me:

BARRY GIBBS from the BEE GEES! It made perfect sense to me. I might have been comforted in my pre-teen years had I owned this tiny Jesus. Not only did he look compassionate and kind, but he must have been HIP and SEXY, too! (I may be the only one brave enough out here in Diaryland to admit I had a CRUSH on Barry before his little brother, Andy came onto the scene!) The RESEMBLANCE is UNCANNY. I have a new found appreciation for the Christian MARKETING department. All I have to say is:

 

 

ALL HAIL JESUS GIBB!

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!